On April 25, 1889 there was an article in the Oshkosh Times which told of Architect Waters' plans for several building to be constructed in the coming season at the home. There was mention of a hotel like building to house the veterans and ten to twelve cottages. The next month there was yet another write up quoting Commandant, Captain Woodnorth who had been to see Mr. Waters. Among the improvements mentioned were a water works system, dining, kitchen and ladies hall, superintendent and doctor's building, store room, ice house, a large barn and twenty cottages. All were to be completed a ready for occupancy by the winter.
One building not mention was the 21st Regiment Club House, a charming Queen Anne Style structure said to have been one of the finest club houses. It was later known as Joseph H. Woodnorth Hall and later was used as the nurses quarters before being demolished in 1971. The superintendents residence was a striking Queen Anne Style building with a long sloping roof and a most unusual corner belvedere.
Not of a picturesque style, the Dining Hall was utilitarian in form and function. All meals were cooked and served from this building and the second floor was the women's dormitory. It was located just behind Marden Hall; the former Greenwood Park Hotel.
Across the road to Waupaca was Marston Hall a beautiful Queen Anne Style, hotel like building. Two octagon portions flanked the central pavilion with a veranda along the front and at center was a two story portico. On the back side of the hall were three wings left, right and center which held resident rooms. Because of the halls distance from the rest of the campus it was known as Canada and it was a hardship in the winter for residences to walk to the dining hall for meals, a kitchen and dining room were then added. Marston was torn down in July of 1985, after ninety five years of service.